The Dundee International Book Prize has established itself as the UK’s premier prize for debut novelists. The £5,000 cash award together with publication, make The Dundee International Book Prize highly valued by tomorrow’s great new writers seeking to break into the publishing world. The award, now running for the twelfth time, is for an unpublished novel on any theme and in any genre. Dundee is a city which embraces writers – A.L. Kennedy was born and bred in the city and Douglas Dunn, Kate Atkinson, John Burnside, Bill Duncan and Rosamunde Pilcher are amongst the “glitterati” who have drawn on the City of Discovery for their inspiration over the last two decades..

The winning books have showcased a diverse range of writing talent in a variety of genres. Andrew Murray Scott’s book Tumulus (the winner in 2000) detailed bohemian Dundee through the 60s and 70s to the present day. Claire-Marie Watson’s The Curewife (2002) drew on the tale of Dundee’s last execution of a witch – Grissel Jaffray in 1669. Malcolm Archibald’s Whales for a Wizard (2005) was an adventure story based around the whaling industry in Dundee in the 1860’s. Fiona Dunscombe’s The Triple Point of Water (2007) drew on her experiences of working in Soho during the 1980’s. Chris Longmuir’s Dead Wood (2009) was a grizzly crime novel set in a world of violence and gangland retribution.

Alan Wright’s Act of Murder (2010) was a tale of magic, poisonings and thespians, with some gruesome murders thrown in for good measure. Simon Ashe-Browne’s Nothing Human Left (2011) was a psychological thriller set in a Dublin public school as a schoolboy’s criminal desires reach a frightening conclusion. 2012 saw Jacob M. Appel win with his satirical novel – The Man that Wouldn’t Stand Up and 2013 saw Irish writer Nicola White win with The Rosary Garden which is a smart, sophisticated and deeply moving thriller.

2014 was the winning year for Amy Mason with her funny, bright, bold and exciting debut novel – The Other Ida.

Martin Cathcart Froden who is originally from Sweden, fought off tough competition winning the 2015 prize with his page turner – Devil Take The Hindmost in which he brilliantly evokes the seedier side of interwar London. Devil Take the Hindmost will be published by Freight Books in June 2016.

Jessica Thummel was 2016 winner. The Cure for Lonely (originally titled The Margins) is the coming-of-age story of Sam Gavin, a transman who moves from Kansas to San Francisco in the summer of 1989. It will be published in summer 2017.


Make your voice heard, with the Dundee International Book Prize

The Dundee International Book Prize is a joint venture between Dundee – One City, Many Discoveries and the University of Dundee.



Freight Books Dundee University Literary Dundee Dundee.com